My Wacom Tablet has made its way Home!

That’s right! After a long couple of years dreaming and saving up some cash (tax return), I bought myself a shiny new Wacom Cintiq drawing screen, 27” of HD goodness. Though I am aware it will not make me a better artist, I do need it to speed up my creative process in Adobe Illustrator now that I am in my storyboard/editing phase.

Anyway, here is how the unboxing went!

1) Basically, after UPS dropped my first one, a new box was shipped from Wacom pronto after talking to management. There is a box within the shipping box that you pull out and remove all of the stuffing.

IMG_0001_2

2) Inside includes the user guide, box full of goodies that include the pen, nibs, reading materials, remote control, and cords you will need to set up.

IMG_0005_2IMG_0003_2 IMG_0004_2IMG_0006_2

3) After unboxing, it asks you to turn off the machine while you hook up all of your cords. Make sure to place your new screen face down on a soft blanket, towel, or pillow to protect the screen while you plug in everything. Also find a space where your Wacom will be happy (flat, stable). My setup is currently NOT acceptable and I need an Ergotron arm (another $250.00) that will allow for me to stand while I work. The back panel flips up so that you can plug in the power cord, USB cable, and the HDMI cable with adaptor to fit my Mac.

IMG_0003_2IMG_0002_2

IMG_0014_2IMG_0012_2IMG_0010_2IMG_0009_2

4) Once I turned everything back around, I popped in the setup CD and followed the onscreen instructions for install.

IMG_0023_2IMG_0024_2

5) The nay problem that stumped me for a good 45 minutes was that my Wacom would not allow me to calibrate my pen, I was getting two different looking screens like this…

IMG_0029_2

But I figured out in my Mac setting that my display needed to be set to “mirror” and that thankfully was an easy fix that did not deal with drivers. I have an older 2008 iMac, but she is still running without problems. Finally, I was able to calibrate the pen.

IMG_0026_2IMG_0021_2

6) Next, I plugged in the remote to charge and docked it on the left hand side of my screen where there are magnets.

IMG_0020_2

7) The next step involved me opening up Adobe Illustrator (what I use to create) and began playing! The tough part…but necessary…is having to figure out how I want my hotkeys configured on the remote and also learn them. Every time I find myself reverting back to the keyboard I make a point of it to stop and figure it out on the remote (that’s the teacher in me).

So now we’re up and running and I can’t wait to get started. So far I’ve sent my introduction and my first chapter to my editor who is sending me back notes. The next chapter I send her will actually have story boards which I am really looking forward to. Wish me luck!

IMG_0019_2

Leave a Reply

