And Away We Go!

I am back at home after my week-long AP reading expedition. What a great experience that was! Over the course of 8 days, I read 950 scripts (free response questions) and met a ton of free spirits that love geography just as much as I do. It was a great way to kick off my working summer and I can not wait to get started. I attended a few professional development sessions, chatted technology integration in the classroom with other interested teachers, and discussed curriculum content with high school teachers and professors. I am thrilled to put all of my new ideas on paper into Illustrator and get moving!

As I have said prior, I am completing my work in Adobe Illustrator and a lot of content has already been laid down. I plan on having an official kick off meeting with my business partner (husband) about what we are going to get accomplished this summer.

Most importantly, I asked some important questions at the conference that I needed to know legally. FIrst and foremost, since the course that I teach is an AP course, it is owned and copyrighted by AP, it is in fact a company that churns out the curriculum and tests for the kids. I speculated that if I were to create a text, that it needed to leave the keyword “AP” off of the title, and after checking, I was correct. I would also need to replace the unit titles with originals as well (which is not that big of a deal).

My table leader seemed shocked at the idea that my school was starting to ask the question about needing textbooks in the future and writing our own. He asked one of the big wigs my questions and really helped me leaving the conference with the information that I needed to get rolling. He said that if I did decide to use the AP name and chapter titles, that I better get a good lawyer.

I do love the course that I teach and AP does an amazing job putting together a great curriculum, but ultimately, they do not create a single text for this course and so far have only hired out college professors to help create one. There are about three texts out there that do the subject justice, but they all leave something out. I plan on putting them all together in one source.

Since I have appreciation for the academic community, I think that my biggest challenge is going to be citing every one of my sources and discerning from what is copyright vs. common knowledge. A lot of my materials are vocabulary and concept based on common knowledge, but others include geographic models and theory that I will need to properly cite. So far, I am citing these at the bottom of each Illustrator page as I go. I have not yet decided if I want to put these at the end of the chapter, page, or text. Right now, I like the idea of a student being able to quickly see what source that a piece of information comes from instead of having to look at the end of the book such as UN data for example, so for now the citations will remain at the bottom of each page. I just spent part of the day working on the website for my textbook supplement. So many categories, no posts yet!

My goal is one post per day to get some content down, but it is also my goal to workout in the morning, go to Dunkin Donuts, get a new dishwasher, and garage floor resurfacing this summer. Let’s see what really happens. But for now, I have my priority, the Human Imprint!

Leave a Reply

